What Is the Local Currency?

The local currency in Turkey is the Turkish Lira (TL) available in the following denominations: Banknotes: 5, 10, 20, 50, 100 & 200 TL, Coins: 5, 10, 25 & 50 kuruş and 1 TL.

Cash can usually be exchanged without commission at bureau de changes (döviz), banks and hotels. Exchange rates are published daily in Turkish newspapers and can also be found in web site of Turkish Central Bank at http://www.tcmb.gov.tr (please click “bugün” under “TCMB Döviz Kurları” on the left column).